Stacatto

I get up from the bed; stark naked beside another, dozing peacefully through. the only light comes from the apartment across our windows, highlighting the crests and troughs of your face, as opposed to mine: oriental and flat.

I place a hand on your chest, counting the breaths you make; I lose count much too soon. I try again, and I forget. 

You sleep on, and on, and on. I don’t know how long I stay. Time seems to be at a standstill. I haven’t slept for 3 days. I can’t sleep; I can’t wake. I haven’t gotten up for 4 days. Please help me.
The clock hands show the time: 3:45. I lay down beside you and pretend to sleep. Your alarm goes off at 4. 

I hope you’ve slept well, my love. You have work today, and I don’t like your boss. I hope you’ll get that promotion soon, get a raise, have better hours.

Do good, get better, fare well.

You leave for work. I get up. 
Farewell. 

Leave a Reply

